Innovation and research

The most modern decentralized grasshopper farm in the world

SmartBreed develops fully automated insect breeding solutions and enables farms to breed their own insects directly on their farm with minimal effort: all you need to do is add feed and water - the breeding box does the rest of the work. Using sensors, it automatically monitors and controls the microclimate in which the insects grow quickly and are available as feed for chickens after a short time. The breeding boxes were developed specifically for native locusts. In a few months, SmartBreed will also be offering a breeding solution in which mealworms can be grown inexpensively with little effort.

Produktion_SmartBreed.jpeg
Verfütterung

Delicious and nutritious eggs from healthy chickens


Grasshoppers are ideal for feeding laying hens. They are an optimal source of protein and their valuable ingredients have a positive effect on the taste of the eggs. But that's not all: As they grow up, the locusts utilize agricultural by-products that would otherwise have been disposed of in waste or in biogas plants. This means there is no need to buy expensive soy from abroad.
Due to the species-appropriate and nature-related feeding of grasshoppers, the chickens not only lay delicious and nutritious eggs, they also live more healthily: the hunt for the insects creates a distraction and reduces aggressive behavior towards their fellow species. Feather and toe pecking are reduced, the immune system is strengthened and the laying performance is improved.

Research for increased animal welfare in chickens

The great innovation content of the breeding solution from SmartBreed has also convinced the Swiss Agency for Innovation Promotion "Innosuisse", which is co-financing a research project which started in autumn 2021. 
A consortium with partners from the University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland, the Bern University of Applied Sciences and the Switzerland Innovation Park Biel / Bienne AG is investigating how the breeding boxes can be further optimized and equipped with self-learning camera technology to monitor the growth process of the locusts. It also analyzes which agricultural by-products are best suited as grasshopper feed, how the animal welfare of the chickens can be optimally increased and how the breeding boxes can be optimally integrated into the farms.

Heuschrecken_Nutztierfutter

Supported by:

Innosuisse_supported_Innovation_project
ETH_Spin-off_Logo_vertikal_positiv.png
UNI_HSG_SpinOff_Logo_4c_E.jpg
klimastiftung
venture-kick

Innovation und Forschung

Die modernste dezentrale Heuschreckenzucht der Welt

SmartBreed entwickelt vollautomatische Insektenzuchtlösungen und ermöglicht landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben eine eigene Insektenzucht mit minimalem Aufwand direkt auf ihrem Hof: Es genügt die Zugabe von Futter und Wasser – den Rest der Arbeit übernimmt die Zuchtbox. Mittels Sensoren überwacht und steuert diese automatisch das Mikroklima, in dem die Insekten rasch heranwachsen und schon nach kurzer Zeit als Futtermittel für Hühner zur Verfügung stehen. Die Zuchtboxen wurden spezifisch für einheimische Wanderheuschrecken entwickelt. In wenigen Monaten bietet SmartBreed auch eine Zuchtlösung an, in der Mehlwürmer mit geringem Aufwand kostengünstig gezüchtet werden können.

Produktion_SmartBreed.jpeg
Verfütterung

Leckere und nahrhafte Eier von gesunden Hühnern


Heuschrecken eignen sich ideal für die Fütterung von Legehennen. Sie sind eine optimale Proteinquelle und ihre wertvollen Inhaltsstoffe wirken sich positiv auf den Geschmack der Eier aus. Doch nicht nur das: Die Heuschrecken verwerten bei ihrem Heranwachsen im Betrieb anfallende Agrarnebenprodukte, die ansonsten im Abfall oder in Biogasanlagen entsorgt worden wären. Somit kann auf den Zukauf teuren Sojas aus dem Ausland verzichtet werden.
Durch die artgerechte und naturbezogene Fütterung von Heuschrecken legen die Hühner nicht nur leckere und nahrhafte Eier, sie leben damit auch gesünder: Die Jagd nach den Insekten sorgt für Ablenkung und mindert das aggressive Verhalten gegenüber ihren Artgenossen. Feder- und Zehenpicken werden reduziert, das Immunsystem wird gestärkt und ihre Legeleistung verbessert.

Forschung für ein gesteigertes Tierwohl der Hühner

Der grosse Innovationsgehalt der Zuchtlösung von SmartBreed hat auch die Schweizerische Agentur für Innovationsförderung «Innosuisse» überzeugt, die ein im Herbst 2021 gestartetes Forschungsprojekt mitfinanziert. 
Darin untersucht ein Konsortium mit Partnern der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz, der Berner Fachhochschule und dem Switzerland Innovation Park Biel/Bienne AG, wie man die Zuchtboxen weiter optimieren und mit einer selbstlernenden Kameratechnik zur Überwachung des Wachstumsprozesses der Heuschrecken ausstatten kann. Analysiert wird zudem, welche Agrarnebenprodukte sich am besten als Heuschreckenfutter eignen, wie das Tierwohl der Hühner optimal gesteigert werden kann und wie die Zuchtboxen optimal in die Betriebe integriert werden können.

Heuschrecken_Nutztierfutter

Supported by:

Innosuisse_supported_Innovation_project
ETH_SPH_Logo_RGB.png
HSG Center for Entrepreneurship
klimastiftung
venture-kick